Purpose of Award

The purpose of the Louise Darling MLGSCA Achievement Award is to honor significant contributions to health sciences librarianship, as well as to the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona.

Criteria for Award

  1. Candidate's contribution is significant towards the advancement of health sciences librarianship through the endeavors of the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona.
  2. Candidate's contributions include, but are not limited to: service, publications, presentations, and projects.
  3. Candidate must hold membership in MLGSCA at the time of election and be a member for a minimum of two years.

Award Guidelines

Nominations shall be made by the MLGSCA membership. Requests for nominations are solicited through the Newsletter and the Awards Committee with a deadline of February 15th. Persons nominating candidates shall provide the Committee with a letter of nomination and a Nomination form. (The form is also printed in the MLGSCA Directory.) Awards Committee members are not eligible for the award during their committee service. The Awards Committee reviews nominations and recommends candidates to the Advisory Council for final approval. Candidates will be excluded from discussions.

The Louise Darling MLGSCA Achievement Award is given annually. The number of candidates per year is at the discretion of the Awards Committee. If no suitable candidates are nominated, the award is not given. Discussions during the selection process of both the Awards Committee and the Advisory Council are not a matter of public record.

The award is usually presented by the President during the Spring Meeting and is announced in the Newsletter following the presentation. The recipient will receive $500.00 and a commemorative item which states:




Recipients of the Louise Darling Award

1986 -- Joyce Loepprich

1987 -- Betty F. Connolly

1990 -- Stephen L. Clancy and Rochelle L. Minchow

1991 -- Kay E. Wellik

1992 -- Paul W. Kittle

1993 -- Jacqueline D. Doyle

1994 -- Christa Buswell

1995 -- Irene Lovas

1996 -- Meredith Mitchell

1997 -- Barbara Slater

1998 -- Marsha Kmec

1999 -- Janis Brown

2000 -- Kay Deeney

2001 -- Marilyn Schwartz

2002 -- Doreen Keough

2003 -- Mary Riordan

2004 -- Anna Habetler

2005 -- Craig Haynes

2006 -- Alan Carr

2007 -- Judy Bube

2008 -- Eileen Wakiji

2009 -- Kathleen Carlson

2010 -- Deborah Klein

2011 -- Ellen Aaronson

2012 -- Julie Kwan

2013 -- Lisa Marks

2014 -- Mary White

2015 -- not awarded

2016 -- not awarded

2017 -- Danielle Linden

2018 -- Not awarded

2019 -- Kathy Zeblisky

2020 -- Molly Harrington

2021 -- not awarded

2022 -- not awarded

2023 -- Sunny McGowan