MLGSCA hosts a number of conferences and continuing education (CE) events throughout the year.

Please choose a category below to view upcoming and past MLGSCA events:


Continuing Education (CE)

The purpose of the MLGSCA Library Staff Excellence Award is to honor an outstanding library staff in a health sciences library and to recognize the critical role and important contributions library staff make to the development and evolution of modern health sciences libraries and librarianship.

Considerations/criteria for nominating a library staff for this award include, but are not limited to, a library staff without a Library Master's degree that:

  • Provides consistently, excellent library service.
  • Continually suggests improvements or innovative ideas and is willing to take the lead in making good suggestions a reality.
  • Encourages and promotes the library’s mission, facilities and resources.
  • Enhances the promotion and marketing endeavors of the library through facilitating productive, effective communication between users and the library.
  • Is professionally curious and is willing to take risks, even if that means moving beyond their comfort zone.
  • Is a lifelong learner and regularly attends training or other local or regional events to improve their skills and knowledge base.

Nominations can be made by any MLGSCA member and sent to the Awards Committee chair. Please use the available form. Nomination deadline is July 1st.

Frequency and Number of Awards
The MLGSCA Library Staff Excellence Award is given annually to one outstanding library staff in a health sciences library.  If there are no suitable candidates nominated, the award is not given. The award is usually presented by the MLGSCA President during the Fall Meeting.

Recipients of the MLGSCA Library Staff Excellence Award

2009 -- Kathleen Shepler

2010 -- Jan Grabowski

2011 -- Elisabeth Mason

2012 -- Norma Layton

2013 -- Rosemarie Murray

2014 -- Nancy Olmos

2015 -- Bethany Weinberg

2016 -- Amy Sharpe

2017 -- Elaine White

2018 -- Pamela Gay

2019 -- Victoria Flores


MLGSCA recognizes the need and importance of fostering and developing health sciences librarians. In fulfillment of this recognition, MLGSCA is pleased to sponsor the Mentor Program. The Professional Issues Committee (PIC) will monitor the program. The PIC will also maintain a roster of mentors and those seeking mentors and facilitate an appropriate match when possible.

The purpose of the MLGSCA Mentoring Program is to:

  1. Provide focused mentoring events, i.e., a person with expertise in a specific area (e.g., administration, technical services, etc.) will be paired with someone seeking skills and support in that area.
  2. Offer long-term and short-term mentoring experiences. A short-term mentoring experience may be for the duration of an annual or joint meeting. It may be a speaking engagement on "health sciences librarians" at one or more of the library schools in the area. Long-term mentoring may be open-ended and continue at the pleasure and discretion of the parties involved.

Who may participate:

1. Persons seeking a mentor. Protégés may be:

  1. library school students with an interest in health sciences librarianship;
  2. professional health sciences librarians;
  3. library assistants;
  4. members or non-members of MLGSCA or MLA;
  5. provisional AHIP members.

2. Persons wanting to perform mentoring. Mentors should be:

  1. professional health sciences librarians; (may include health sciences librarians in non-traditional circumstance, e.g., corporate librarians, consultant librarians, etc.)
  2. members of MLGSCA or MLA;
  3. experts (demonstrated expertise) in one or more of the health sciences librarians competencies listed in the Platform for Change.

NOTE: Academy credit for participation by AHIP members is currently under review by the MLA Credentialing Committee.

For more information:

If you are interested in participating in the program, complete the application and return to:

MLGSCA Professional Issues Committee Co-Chairs:
Robin Schiff

Jan Kuebel-Hernandez

Purpose of Award:

  • The purpose of the Lifetime Achievement Award is to honor the significant lifetime achievements of a MLGSCA member who has made lasting contributions to the profession of health science librarianship beyond the scope of the local chapter.

Criteria for Award:

  • Candidate’s sustained lifetime contributions (meant for an entire body of work, not just a single achievement) have been significant toward the advancement of librarianship on a national and/or international level. Contributions include, and are not limited to, service, publications, presentations, mentorship, research, education and training, innovative technology, and creative projects.
  • Candidate is ending a distinguished career in health sciences librarianship.
  • Candidate has been a member of MLGSCA for at least five years and is a current member.

Award Guidelines:

  • The MLGSCA Advisory Council will make the formal award selection. The candidates will be recognized in the profession and be leaders in the field.
  • Person nominating candidate will provide the Awards Committee with a letter of nomination and the Application for Nomination form, found in the MLGSCA Directory or on the MLGSCA web site, no later than November 1.
  • Awards Committee members are not eligible for the award during their committee service. All members will send their nominations to the Awards Committee, who will then review the nominations and recommend candidate(s) to the Advisory Council. Candidates will be excluded from selection discussions.
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award is given only when candidates clearly meet or exceed eligibility criteria, and once in a candidate’s lifetime.

Discussions during the selection process of both the Awards Committee and the Advisory Council are confidential.

Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award

2003 -- Alison Bunting

2004 -- Marilyn Schwartz

1949 Ella Crandall
1950 Louise Darling
1951 Josephine Hermann
1952 Vilma Proctor
1953 Dorothy Nieman
1954 Nancy Haynes
1955 Gertrude Clark
1956 Alfred Brandon
1957 Mollie Stitner
1958 Grace Weiner
1959 Frances F. Freleaux
1960 Janet White

Margaret Cressaty

1962 Robert F. Lewis
1963 Frances Ishii Lyon
1964 John Connor
1965 Edwin N. Hughes
1966 Denise P. Kafrouni
1967 George Summers
1968 Clyde Winters
1969-1970 Lois Ann Colaianni
1970-1971 E. Lee Johnston
1971-1972 Najwa L. Hanel
1972-1973 Phyllis S. Mirsky
1973-1974 Coni Uzelac
1974-1975 Erika M. Hansen
1975-1976 Harvey Hammond
1976-1977 Eleanor Goodchild
1977-1978 Alison Bunting
1978-1979 Marilyn W. Schwartz
1979-1980 Ludy Labovitz
1980-1981 Gail Yokote
1981-1982 Sherrill Sorrentino
1982-1983 Cynthia Butler
1983-1984 Jacqueline D. Doyle
1984-1985 Christa Buswell
1985-1986 Elaine Graham
1986-1987 Susan Russell
1987-1988 Betsy Rodie King
1988-1989 Judy Bube
1989-1990 Collette Ford
1990-1991 Christine Chapman
1991-1992 Deborah Batey
1992-1993 Margie Snape
1993-1994 Alice Karasick
1994-1995 Rochelle Minchow
1995-1996 Barbara Slater
1996-1997 Marion Sabella
1997-1998 Anna Habetler
1998-1999 Carlene Bogle
1999-2000 Doreen Keough
2000-2001 Pamela Corley
2001-2002 Craig Haynes
2002-2003 Craig Haynes
2003-2004 Alan Carr
2004-2005 Marsha Kmec
2005-2006 Alice Kawakami
2006-2007 Ellen Aaronson
2007-2008 Cheryl Bartel
2008-2009 Deborah Klein
2009-2010 Lisa Marks
2010-2011 Eileen Wakiji
2011-2012 Rebecca Birr
2012-2013 Mary E. White
2013-2014 Mary E. White
2014-2015 Kathleen Carlson